Tales from Te Aotearoa

Why did New Zealand amazed me … ? Well it’s not an easy one. It’s been nearly a year since I came back home from my adventure there. But I still feel like it was yesterday. The land of the long white cloud, Te Aotearoa in Māori, is a true gem, a paradise for photographers and the mecca of outdoor enthusiasts. Somewhere in the pacific ocean, east of Australia, the country’s two main islands are home to a mind blowing diversity of landscapes …

Summing up a 5 months journey in New Zealand isn’t an easy task. This post will be a preview of what you should expect while visiting the country. I’ll write specific articles later, focused on the highlights of my trip there with selected hikes and “not to be missed” places.

If I had to choose one word to describe New Zealand: Diversity. It’s truly incredible how fast the scenery changes when travelling around the country.

The North Island is mostly known for its volcanoes and geothermal fiels around Lake Taupo and Rotorua, cradle of the Māori culture. But the Northland and the Coromandel Peninsula, are evidences of how diverse the landscape is in Te Aotearoa.

Then comes the South Island, it is truly a natural wonder, the Alps are separating the island in two, with only four ways to go through them: the Nelson area, Lewis Pass, Arthur’s Pass and Haast pass. This Island gathers mind blowing sights and breathtaking scenery with snow capped mountains, dense rainforest, untouched and remote areas…, a true outdoor enthusiasts paradise!

Storyofakiwiexperience.wordpress.com is the blog (in french) I’ve written when travelling around New Zealand, you will find specific content with details of what I was up to when exploring the country. I will focus on some selected highlights in here, hoping it will give you enough inspiration to plan a trip to Te Aotearoa.

April 3rd, 2015 – Auckland

I got off the bus upper Queen Street, soon realizing I should have waited for a few more stops. Anyway, walking down the street with my backpacks, I instantly forgot the 30 hrs trip, time difference and the advanced state of fatigue my body was experiencing. Being in the middle of an unknown city, 20,000 km away from my home village, I was feeling good, relaxed and happy … An adventure began…

 

Author: Rob Mazc

Outdoor enthusiast seeking for new aventures !

1 thought on “Tales from Te Aotearoa”

Leave a Reply

